Engaged Scholarship through IS Design and Action

Engaged scholarship embodies participative forms of research that obtain the advice and perspectives of key stakeholders (researchers, users, clients, sponsors, and practitioners) in understanding a complex social problem. Diverse forms of research can be conducted within an engage frame, and the track welcomes submissions from the entire range. A particular example of interest to this track is the interplay of design science and action research. Design science seeks to extend the boundaries of human and organizational capabilities by creating new and innovative artifacts. Action research aims to create organizational change and simultaneously to study the processes being changed, again with the objective of producing knowledge and understanding that is potentially transferable to other studies. One interesting intersection of these is the open knowledge movement, which tries to harness the innovation of the users and hackers to provide novel applications and services. 
Typically engaged scholarship is an iterative research process that capitalizes on learning through both researcher and subject expertise, within the context of the subjects' social system. It is a clinical method that puts IS researchers in a helping-role with practitioners, and reveals how researcher knowledge can inform and be informed by practitioner settings. The scope of this track includes reports of significant research findings that arise from such engaged approaches, studies of the practical use of such approaches to problem solving and theoretical use to research, and conceptual works that significantly and convincingly expand our understanding of these approaches and their philosophical underpinnings.

Track Chairs

Jan Marco Leimeister (Kassel University) & (University of St. Gallen)
Matti Rossi (Aalto University)

Associate Editors

  • Michel Avital, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark
  • Tilo Böhmann, University of Hamburg, Germany
  • David Gefen, Drexel University, USA
  • Michael Schermann, TU München, Germany
  • Gerhard Schwabe, Universität Zürich, Switzerland
  • Kari Smolander, Lappeenranta University of Technology, Finland
  • Ali Sunyaev, Universität Köln, Germany